A Blueberry Crisp

This is one of my favorite crisp recipes. It has the right ratio of oatmeal, butter, brown sugar and flour. It is very versatile and can be used to cover any fruit. This recipe is from the now defunct Autumn Moon Cafe in Oakland. I have carted this recipe around since 1999. It’s a keeper!

IMG_0611

To adapt this recipe, I tossed the 2 lbs of blueberries with 3T of constarch and the juice of 1 lemon (since the lemon was hard, I microwaved it briefly for 20 seconds to more easily release the juices).

I also prefer brown sugar to white sugar in these type of recipes. Adjust to your own liking.

IMG_0612

And this was the finished product:

IMG_0614

I wish I would have taken a picture after I cut into it to show the beautiful thick crust. We served it with simple whipped cream and it was the perfect summer dessert!

This is also a recipe that I double the topping while making and freeze half for future use. It keeps very well.

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

