The Back Deck

P1000009

Back Deck

The back deck, off my second story ‘Master Bedroom’ has been a bone of contention between me and moi. It is ugly, with few redeeming qualities, other than some extra square footage.

Each time I look out the slider, I shudder like Pee Wee Herman striding past the snakes during the pet shop fire in ‘Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.’ It’s an area I want to have an affinity for, yet I don’t. It’s an unforgiving area, where plants are sent to die owing to the fact that all water must be transported. And, I am ADD where plants are concerned. Not a winning combination.

Recently I’ve decided to embrace the ‘veranda,’ rearranging furniture, potting some succulent plants and adding two beautiful Mandarin orange trees with lobelia.

IMG_0627

P.S. I thought succulents were creepy when my grandmother loved them in the ’70s, but have a new found love for them based on their minimal watering requirements! I threw in some overpriced (even on ‘sale’) Pottery Barn indoor/outdoor pillows, and voila, a new staging area.

IMG_0260

Planning a Pizza and Pinot dinner out there sometime soon. Let’s hope there are some plants still alive when that happens! This is not Green Acres.

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
Aside | This entry was posted in Decor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Back Deck

  1. Hez says:

    Looking fab, I can’t wait to sit out there with you and have cocktails. I too am enjoying the ease of succulents, perhaps the ADD with plants runs in the family. Apparently we didn’t inherit Aunt Margaret’s “green thumb”.

Leave a Reply

