Sourdough Pancakes via a Sourdough Starter

Finished Product

Finished Product

These pancakes started out 7 days ago with a Sourdough Starter. I had a ‘bee in my bonnet’ that I was going to make sourdough bread. Being from Nor Cal, I am accustomed to delicious sourdough that you can get anytime, anywhere. Unfortunately, So Cal does not feel the same way I do about bread, or carbs, for that matter.

What really got me motivated was running across this Sourdough Starter recipe from the San Francisco A la Carte cook book that I’ve referenced before. It seemed simple enough:

1 pkg (1T) active dry yeast
2 1/2 C water
2 C flour (I used unbleached white whole wheat flour)
1 T sugar

P1000075

 

Looks sort of grody. And then it gets worse.

P1000094

Starter with a Floater

The starter naturally produces an alcohol that floats on the top called hooch. Don’t drink it.

The starter needs to sit for 5-10 days to get really sour. Keep it at room temperature with a loose cloth over the top.

Back to the pancakes:

On day 7 I couldn’t stand it anymore, and didn’t have the time to make bread, so I made these little flapjacks. One of the hooligans was suspect that we were making pancakes without Betty Crocker. He has no culinary faith in me.

P1000122

This recipe was adapted from the original in SF A la Carte:

1 heaping cup of flour (again, white whole wheat)
2 T. Sugar
1 1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 C sourdough starter
1 C milk

Combine flour, sugar, b. powder, b. soda and salt. In another bowl combine egg, starter and milk. I mixed together using a flat whisk, my fave for this type of mixing. Batter can be a little lumpy. Meanwhile, heat a cast iron griddle to medium heat, and then apply a thin coating of vegetable oil. By applying oil after griddle (or any pan) heats it creates a nice non-stick surface.

Pour scant 1/4 c of batter on griddle for every pancake. Turn when edges are bubbled and slightly dry.

P1000125

P1000126

 

As these photos prove, I am neither a professional cook, nor professional photographer. Imagine these photos less blurry, and the pancakes properly arranged when flipped…

And voila, after  168 hours, really good sourdough pancakes.

P1000129

 

The houligan was less than impressed, but my dad seemed to love them. My dad also likes canned hash. I thought they could have been more sour, but the kid said they were plenty sour. I’m starting to think I’ve killed off all my taste buds with sriracha sauce and chardonnay…

p.s. My use of Unbleached White Whole Wheat flour is an attempt to use up all the King Arthur WWW flour I bought on sale at Target marked down from $3.99 to $2.78. I thought is was simply unbleached flour as I wasn’t paying attention. It works in some recipes, but is certainly not interchangeable with AP flour unless you want a denser product. It works just fine in these 2 recipes.

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sourdough Pancakes via a Sourdough Starter

  1. bepcity says:

    I think your photos look great! I just made bread using a starter for the first time recently…I think I’ll have to try sourdough next!

Leave a Reply

