Another Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

P1000214

I don’t like chocolate. There, I said it. In light of that admission, I do tolerate milk chocolate (which I believe true Chocolatiers don’t ascribe too…) and I have been on a quest to make a milk chocolate chip cookie that wasn’t too flat, but was nice thick and chewy. After 20 years of tinkering with the Toll House Cookie recipe I think I achieved a good cookie, with a nice crumb. And this morning, that cookie was breakfast!

I amended the recipe by using a mixture of bread flour and white whole wheat flour, and by also increasing the flour from 2 1/4 C. flour to 3 C. I also used all dark brown sugar which I added to the melted butter. After everything was mixed I chilled the dough for about a half hour, because I couldn’t wait. The rest of the dough will chill until a later time.

Milk Chocolate Chip Recipe:

2 C. bread flour
1 C. white whole wheat flour
1 t. baking soda
1/4 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 C. butter, melted and slightly browned
1 1/2 C. dark brown sugar
1 egg, plus 1 egg yolk
2 t. vanilla

Combine flours, b. soda, b. powder, salt. Set aside. Combine brown sugar and melted butter. Stir and let sit for 5 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla. Add flour mixture to butter mixture only until thoroughly combined. Bake at 400 for 8 minutes.

P1000220

I used a medium scoop ice cream scoop to measure cookies and then divided that amount in half, rolling into balls. I then flash froze them all on a cookie sheet so I could store them in containers and bake them off as needed, or hand out as hostess gifts.

P1000223

They were delicious with a soft crumb and a toffee flavor. Definitely my favorite version!

P1000207

 

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

