Summer Corn Pasta with Cherry Tomatoes

 

IMG_0833

 

This is the finished product: Summer Corn Pasta. It’s carbalicious. Unfortunately.

This is what happens when Costco has eleventeen ears of corn for $3.79, you start looking for creative ways to use it up. I’m sorry it’s not from the Farmer’s Market, but I literally hate shucking corn. So this cleaned up version beckoned me. Already this week we’ve had the corn in steak salad and I’m threatening to turn it into chowder, so tonight it was pasta with corn.

Usually I avoid pasta because I just can’t be trusted around it. I end up eating 3 servings before I know it, and then I have eater’s remorse. However, this recipe was too good to pass up. It’s adapted from the ‘Real Simple’ August 2013 issue. I omitted the zucchini, added parmesan and boosted the flavor with a pinch of red pepper flakes. It turned out great.

P1000184

 

Italian Parsley from our 'Garden'

Italian Parsley from our ‘Garden’

2 C. roasted corn, shaved off the cob
1/2 C. Italian Parsley
1 Pint cherry tomatoes
1/2 C. grated parmesan
6 cloves garlic, diced and sauteed
1 lb. fettucine
3/4 C. reserved pasta water
1 tsp. red pepper flakes, or to taste
1/3 C. crumbled goat cheese
salt and pepper

Cook pasta according to the pkg. directions. Throw roasted corn into the pan with sauteed garlic and then add cooked pasta. Add the remaining ingredients and toss together. Finish with S&P and garnish with additional parmesan.

P1000189

 

It looks like it will be equally delicious reheated tomorrow. I better start running right now to offset the damage!

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

