No More Store Bought Hamburger Buns!

IMG_0893

This roll right here is a little piece of dough heaven. I have long been on the hunt for the perfect hamburger bun. One with some substance, one that can stand up to all the fillings, one that won’t fall apart on you mid way through your burger.

I’ve had beautiful buns at places like The Standard in L.A., Rider’s Club in San Clemente, and Nancy Silverton’s Short Order at the Farmer’s Market at the Grove. So I knew good buns were out there. However, I thought they’d be too labor intensive and complicated to make on my own and would never, ever taste the same. I was completely wrong.

I found these buns at thebrowneyedbaker, who’d adapted them from another source, the Bread Baker’s Assistant. I made very slight adjustments. They are simply perfect. And easy! Just what I was looking for.

Recipe:

Makes 12 buns

5 C. bread flour
1 t. salt
2 t. yeast
Combine, and mix together, ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer. With the dough hook attachment in place, add:

1/4 C. softened butter
1 1/2 C. room temperature milk
1 egg, slightly beaten
Beat all ingredients with dough hook for 6 minutes.

P1000478 P1000481

Place dough in an oiled boil, cover and let rise for 1 1/2hrs. Punch down and divide dough into 3 ounce portions. Form into hamburger shaped rolls. Mist with an oil spray. Cover.

P1000485

Let rest for 20 minutes. Flatten tops of buns a little and then let rise again for an hour. Brush buns with an egg wash (1 egg/ 1 t. water).

Place buns in a 400 degree oven. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

IMG_0897 IMG_0899 IMG_0900

Because I ran out of good light, I did not take pictures of the finished product with the burger and all the fixings. The flavor of the bun was sublime, so tender yet sturdy. It soaked up all the juicy good stuff, without falling apart in your hands. Suffice it to say, these buns stood up to everything placed on them. It makes me wonder how I ever managed to choke down a store bought bun!?!

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

