Butterscotch Pudding and Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies

IMG_2560

Butterscotch pudding is one of my all-time favorite childhood desserts. My mother, whom it has been established was not a great cook, used to whip this up all by her lonesome. With the aid of boxed Jello. It was a beautiful, chemically generated butterscotch color, and it just made my five year old self swoon.

Fast forward to an evening at Mozza several years ago, where I was served a beautiful butterscotch budino and shortbread cookie. I have been on the quest to make a decent replication since then.

Happily, I stumbled upon a post by David Lebovitz, of the famed Chez Panisse with a yummy dessert he’d adapted from Ripe for Dessert. And since I was in the throes of creating my Oscar night menu, I thought it would be perfect as it had to be made well in advance, was a different texture to what I was serving for dinner and it was chilled, juxtaposing it to the warm dinner we would eat.

But, I wanted to have some ‘crunch’ to be served alongside the creamy pudding. And since the shortbread cookie at Mozza had been so terrific, I set out to make my own. Except, there was a twist: I substituted the white sugar for brown sugar and sprinkled them with sea salt. They were ‘to die for!’

Simple Recipe:

1 C. butter
1/2 C. brown sugar
Cream together the butter and sugar
add:
1/4 C. cornstarch
1 1/2 C. all purpose flour

Chill for 30 minutes, roll out and then cut out into the desired shape. Sprinkle with flaky sea salt and bake at 375 for 10 minutes, checking so as not to burn.

Enjoy!

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

