Key Lime Pie. Yum.

IMG_2678

 

I don’t know what got into me this year, but I became obsessed with St. Paddy’s day. Although we are not one lick Irish, our dog does hail from the Emerald Isle. So just because she can’t eat Pot Roast, Potatoes Colcannon, or Key Lime Pie, it didn’t stop me from making them as a nod to her heritage. Yes, I have lost the plot and am officially celebrating the Dirty Dawg’s ethnicity.

I know this menu is a little whack-a-doodle,and not classically Irish, but I had to improvise for many reasons. Mainly, the imperative that Pot Roast had to be substituted for Corned Beef and Cabbage. Have I mentioned my mother was a terrible cook? Honestly, she would have aspired to be a terrible cook, but I’m side-stepping that one today. But she did ‘try hard.’ Knowing my dad loved CB&C she would attempt to make it. Year after ever-loving’ year. Now, in my opinion, this dish takes a certain level of skill. Which was missing circa 1970s Santa Rosa in our kitchen. Anyways, suffice it to say. I was scarred and will never A.) eat that dish, nor B.) make that dish. So, Pot Roast it was.

The potatoes colcannon were delish. Trumped up mashed potatoes, embellished with sautéed kale and cabbage combined with buttermilk and butter. Absolutely stellar.

But my real coup de gras, which has nothing to do with the observance of St. Pat’s day and everything to do with a greenish dessert, was the Key Lime pie.

I fall in and out of love with citrus desserts. I think I O.D.ed in the 90s on one too many lemon bars and I just ruined it for myself. Well, the draught is over with this number. I adapted it from Ina Garten’s frozen Key Lime dessert by reducing the lime juice and the zest (my ADD kicked in after grating the 11th baby lime) and then baking it in a 325 degree oven for 17 minutes. I then allowed it to sit over night in the fridge, covering it with whipped cream prior to serving. It really was a revelation. Sooo good. Just the right amount of sweet and tart.

And the perfect shade of green. Erin go braugh!

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Dirty Dawg, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Key Lime Pie. Yum.

  1. YUM! I love key lime pie. Great alternative idea for St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

