Pineapple-Jalapeno ‘March Madness’ Margarita

photo 1

 

Two of my worlds collided this weekend: Margaritas and the NCAA Basketball Tournament. I looooooove March Madness beyond the telling. I really do love to watch most sports, but this tourni really takes the cake. I adore the unpredictability, youth, and heart of this series. Young guys, playing their guts out and leaving nothing on the floor. What must it feel like knowing grown men are betting on your talent, hoping their team makes it through 64 other teams to become the best? Pretty darn rad and scary, I’m sure. I want to especially cry when the Seniors walk off, or foul out, of these games knowing that years of dedication to this sport has come to an end. What an emotional way to go out. If I were their parents, I would sob. But then, I’m a crier. Even for other people’s kids!

To temper my excitement, or enhance it, not sure which, I concocted this little baby: A Pineapple-Jalapeno Margarita sans salt. Not a salt gal with the margs, nor am I a blended fan of the margarita either.

Since I’ve officially killed off all my taste buds, spice has entered my life and more times than not it’s in the form of the jalapeño, seeds and all to make it even more spicy. But this is not a purists margarita as I’ve included Perrier sparkling water flavored with lime, so that I am not totally tanked and unable to enjoy the basketball games!

Here’s how you mix it:

1 shot tequila
1/4 c pineapple juice
2 slices jalapeño
1 can Perrier sparkling water
1 T Triple Sec
Squeeze of lime

Pour the juice and sliced jalapeño into a shaker and muddle it together a bit. Then add the tequila and shake it for 20 seconds. Pour into a glass and add the sparkling water. Garnish with a lime. I love the mix of sweet and spicy the juice and pepper add. Enjoy!

And then sit back and enjoy the maddest sporting event of the year!

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Arts/Entertainment, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

