Pulled Pork Sandwich with Lurid Yellow Sauce

photo 4One of my favorite all time sandwiches, seems to be most everyone else’s, too: The Pulled ‘Insert Your Favorite Meat Here’ Sandwich. I realize it’s probably been done to death, and therefore photographed to death. But I Don’t Care. I love it. I love it in all its iterations. Chicken, Beef, Pork. Whatever, and whenever, I will eat it.

For several years in a row, I’ve made the pulled chicken version, slapped in the slow-cooker and served for my annual 4th of July lunch due to some of my guests aversion to pork. But I never forget about the porcine version.

This weekend I was looking for something to make ahead for lunch so I didn’t have to spend a minute away from my March Madness obsession. Aha, these sandwiches popped in my head. I woke up a tad early and smothered a pork butt with brown sugar, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper and set it atop sliced yellow onions and a few smashed cloves of garlic. I set that slow cooker on high and cooked the heck out of it for 7 hours.

Meanwhile, I remembered a yellow mustard sauce (that I believe finds its roots in North Carolina), I’d been served with a PPS in the past. We’d referred to it as Lurid Yellow Sauce as it is a very strong yellow color, with the most divine flavor. A nice deviation from the standard bar-b-que sauce. This sauce contains 1/2 C. yellow mustard (something like French’s), 1/2 c. brown Sugar, 1 T. ground mustard, 1/4 t. cayenne pepper, 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar, 4 T. butter, 3 T. grated onion. Add the grated onion to the melted butter and then add rest of the ingredients. Simmer for 30m. on low. Serve atop the meat sandwich.

photo 1

Now, I must make a confession: Sometimes I pull a Semi-Homemade with Sandra Lee move and use pre-made version of items that A. I don’t make well, B. The difference between homemade and store bought is negligible and/or C. I like the store bought version better than my own. Store bought coleslaw from my local Ralph’s covers all these bases. So when you view this next pic, don’t be surprised!…Sue me.

photo 2

 

This sandwich, served with some good old-fashioned Lay’s potato chips, and an ice cold beer were the perfect companions during the Elite Eight playoffs on my lazy Sunday afternoon.

Are you a fan of the lurid yellow sauce? Or a red bbq sauce purist? It’s like choosing between my children. It depends on what day…

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

