Soup is OOOOONNNN

 

photo 3

I don’t know why this never occurred to me, but as I  was cruising through the internet looking for a soup to make over the weekend, I stumbled across this delicioso soup. A riff off my boring chicken tortilla soup, amped up with shrimp, which I would eat with every meal if possible. J’adore shrimp.

photo 5

This, is Mexican mire poix:  Onion, garlic, green onion, jalapeño. Totally fab.

photo 4

 

 

After the addition of paprika, cayenne, cumin, salt and pepper and the diced potatoes in juice. Next came the shrimp.

photo 1

After you add the shrimp, don’t over cook it. The shrimp were literally cooked through in 4 minutes. After that, they get tough and rubbery. Not my fave.

photo 2

This part is the best: All the accoutrement! Fried tortilla strips, cojita cheese, sour cream, sliced jalapeños, lime wedges, and pico de gallo make this light soup a little heartier and allows for soup customization! So fun and yummy.

I unintentionally made this soup 2 days in advance. The flavors definitely mellowed a tad, but still had the spicy kick I crave. I served it alongside corn bread muffins and a lightly dressed salad of mixed greens. How do you say Bon Appetit en Espanol???

 

 

 

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

