Banana Muffins, Post-Carb Break-Up

 

IMG_3266I am full-swing into a carb break-up. I’d seen the signs that the break-up was coming: Bloating, Weight-Gain, Lack of Energy, etc. Now, I’m no Dietician, and I truly don’t know if all these factors were carb related; however, I just felt like I needed to alter my love affair of all things carbohydrate.

My big joke lately has been, “once they develop an ‘All Carb, No Exercise’ diet, I will be thin as a reed. As I don’t anticipate that happening any time soon, I severely cut back on bread, sweets and treats. It’s taken a few months but I’ve managed to ‘re-set’ my carb button. I feel heavy and sluggish if I go overboard with bread, which used to be my drug carb of choice.

But I digress…I was asked to bring muffins for the World Cup Final to a friend’s home. Despite my urge to make Kuchen, in honor of my German heritage and my pick to win the WC, I wasn’t up to make a yeasted bread.

Luckily, I had bananas on hand. I was in business. I googled Ina Garten’s Banana Muffin recipe, substituting half the sugar for brown sugar, increasing the bananas from 3 to 4, and adding a streusel topping (at least a little something German).

I’ve finally achieved the perfect banana muffin and it was worth every carbalicious bite! They were divine.

About ktheidtke

A single mother of 4, narrating the everyday.
This entry was posted in Dirty Dawg. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

